Promoting and celebrating the city's historic architectural and cultural resources through advocacy, education, and public engagement.

Mission Statement

Preserve Minneapolis promotes and celebrates the city’s historic architectural and cultural resources through advocacy, education, and public engagement.

Our History

We were founded in 2003 as an informal group of professionals and enthusiasts helping to organize tours, parties, and other events in Minneapolis for the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s annual conference. Since then, we’ve evolved into a permanent 501c3 organization promoting preservation throughout Minneapolis. We are led by volunteer board members with diverse interests and backgrounds. Find out more about our leadership below.

Board of Directors

Katie Haun Schuring, President
Katie holds a Master of Historic Preservation from Ball State University and is the author of The History Park Inn Hotel and City National Bank, a history of the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed hotel and bank in Mason City, Iowa, for Wright on the Park, Inc.   On any given day you might find Katie wandering through your neighborhood, admiring the city’s vernacular architecture.

Chuck Liddy, Vice President
Charles is a Principal with Miller Dunwiddie Architecture with nearly 40 years of experience. His extensive background in historical work has resulted in numerous preservation project awards from AIA Minneapolis, the Minneapolis and St. Paul Heritage Preservation Commissions, and the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota. His career in preservation has been recognized by his receiving the AIA Minneapolis/Heritage Preservation Commission Steve Murray Award, the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota Career Achievement Award, and being inducted into the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects.

In addition to serving on the Board of Preserve Minneapolis, Chuck is currently a member of the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota and the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Previously he was Chair of the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission, on the Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Board and the State Review Board of the Minnesota Historical Society, President of AIA Minneapolis, and co-Chair of the AIA Minneapolis Urban Design Committee. Chuck often distinguishes himself as a preservation architect by wearing the ubiquitous bowtie!

Kelly Mastin, Secretary
Kelly is a registered architect who works at Miller Dunwiddie Architecture, primarily on historic preservation projects.  She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and Masters of Architecture degree from the University of Minnesota.  She discovered her passion for historic preservation through work, where she has had the good fortune to work on a variety of preservation ventures, including multiple projects at the Basilica of Saint Mary and the Upper Post of Fort Snelling.

Phillip Koski, Treasurer
Phillip Koski, AIA, is a registered architect and founder of Koski Architecture. His portfolio of design work includes local landmarks and urban places, including the restoration of the Pantages Theater, the Hennepin Theater District Streetscape, and an addition to the historic Hennepin Avenue United Methodist Church. As a preservation and design advocate, he has served on the Minneapolis HPC from 2001-2008 (the last three years as Chair), has represented his south Minneapolis neighborhood, Corcoran, on several public works projects and is currently it’s Land Use Committee Chair.  In 2011 Phillip was the President of the Minneapolis chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and is a regular contributor to Architecture Minnesota and Metro magazines.

Edna Brazaitis

Anders Christensen

Richard Kronick
Richard Kronick is a freelance writer, writing trainer, architectural historian, and musician. He is co-author, with Rick Harrison, of Prefurbia: Redesigning the Suburbs from Disdainable to Sustainable. More than 100 of Richard’s articles about architecture and engineering have appeared in national and regional journals and magazines. He is a past-president of the Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) and founded the chapter’s newsletter, With Respect to Architecture. He teaches, lectures, and leads tours on architectural history for the University of Minnesota’s College of Continuing Education, The National Trust for Historic Preservation, and other organizations. He has presented papers at conferences of SAH, The Walter Burley Griffin Society, and the Midwest Art History Society. He is an expert on the architecture of Purcell & Elmslie.

Since 1986, Richard has presented more than 1,000 business writing seminars in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Northern Ireland, The Netherlands, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, and Hong Kong.

In addition, Richard is a professional jazz musician; he plays string bass and electric bass, sings, writes, and arranges. He leads The Kronick Quintet and plays in other groups.

Amy Lake
Amy Lake is a nonprofit consultant, specializing in fund development programs. She is a graduate of the Humrphrey Institute’s Nonprofit Management program and a Certified Fundraising Executive (CFRE).

John Stark
John is a registered architect and LEED Accredited Professional in Building Design and Construction.  He has a passion for preservation and sustainability.  His career includes a large number of historic projects.  John generously volunteers his time and is currently 2012 President of AIA Minneapolis, past chairman of the AIA Minnesota Historic Resources Committee and past chairman of the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota Advocacy Committee.  In addition to the awards his projects have received John has been published in The Minnesota Preservationist and won the 2010 Steve Murray Award from the City of Minneapolis Historic Preservation Commission.

Peter Sussman

David Hlavac
David is a strategic communications professional with more than 20 years of experience in cause marketing, public relations, content strategy and media engagement. A Minneapolis native with vivid memories of downtown in the 1970s and 1980s, David believes strongly that historic preservation is more than just a feel-good pursuit: it’s the very thing that keeps cities alive, vibrant and unique. David earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in American History – with an emphasis on Minnesota History – from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, where he enjoyed exploring every corner of Rarig Center, Ralph Rapson’s brutalist landmark on the University’s West Bank Campus.

Heather Giesel
Heather is Grants Services Supervisor with the Minnesota Department of Education, where she manages a team of Grant Specialists who award, monitor and manage state and federal grants awarded to school districts, non-profits and other agencies around Minnesota. Heather received her Bachelor’s Degree in Art History from the University of St. Thomas and focused her senior thesis on three different models of preservation in the Lowertown neighborhood of St. Paul.  Heather began her career as an intern with the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery and went on to serve in grants management roles at the National Trust for Historic Preservation, The World Wildlife Fund, and the Metropolitan Council.  In her spare time she volunteers at the James J. Hill house, gawks at the beautiful architecture in her neighborhood while walking her dog, and enjoys trying new restaurants and traveling with her her husband.

Andrew Yarish
Andrew has been volunteering with Preserve Minneapolis since 2013 in the role of social media manager, and has also assisted with the organization’s communications and events. He holds a BA in Art History from the University of Minnesota and is an avid appreciator of vibrant neighborhoods anchored by a strong sense of place.

Tax ID Number: 26-2984287